top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekirstysummers0

Helpful hints and tips

Updated: Feb 9, 2021

Helpful hints and tips



Here are some helpful hints and tips to help you control the anxiety living within you.


I think now more than ever people may be suffering with anxiety due to the current circumstances. Maybe this is heightened now more than ever, are you looking after yourself?

The following little hints and tips have helped me out over the years and still continue to do so. If you find one does not work so well for you that is okay, give another one a try. It is all about trial and error as everyone is different and you will find different things work for you.




Take time out

This is so important, we all lead busy lives and actually truthbe told, we can forget to take some time out for us. Even if this is for 5 minutes it does work wonders and can clear your head.

Eat well-balanced meals


Now here is the thing; we love the stuff that is bad for us (speaking from experience). I love chocolate, crisps and carbs that end up being my go to, actually food in general 😊. They make you feel so good at the time of eating them, but if you are constantly eating this you will just feel so sluggish and tired all the time and in turn it will affect your mental health. Eating lots of good nutritious foods and a balanced diet will help you feel more alive and fuller on energy, making you feel happy and positive; ready to tackle the day. This one is easier said than done and I know myself I go through stages and I am at my best when I am being good. You are what you eat 😊

Exercise daily to help you feel good and maintain your health


I am sure if you speak with anyone in the fitness industry or people who like to keep fit themselves they will tell you this is the best medicine!

Maybe not at the time or during it as it can be tough but exercising helps you feel so good mentally and physically. I myself have been a little off my game recently and only back at it a week or two ago and can notice a difference. Even a walk outside in the fresh air could make you feel a little better.

Take deep breaths

Now this one I used to struggle with – I feel like when you are in a state of panic this seems so very difficult to do? Would you agree?

Breathing slowly and deeply can help you feel more relaxed and a lot calmer as time goes on. Again, this is something that takes a bit of practice and may need you to go back over the basics.

Do your best


Exactly that.

Do your best. Take baby steps if you need. Some more than others. For example, getting out of bed in the morning may be a huge struggle for a lot of people.

Take the step – go make that cup of tea, have the shower, read a book or go and get some fresh air. Remember one step at a time if it is too difficult; small baby steps to start with. Always acknowledge your achievements however big or small they are. They are all worth celebrating not only does it make you feel good but it is a step closer to having a little control over your life.

Write things down


I think this is my go-to. I ALWAYS write things down.

Journal your way into 2021 and write it all down so that when you are in a better frame of mind you can look back and see how far you have come not only that but it lets you see how strong you are. Writing things down helps me massively as when I see it down in black and white it suddenly does notfeel so bad as it does when it is in my head. Sounds strange but it is worth trying if you struggle with so many thoughts going in and out of your head. If you are like me playing them over and over in your head until you are so overwhelmed, you cannot think anymore. IT IS A GREAT FILTER SYSTEM.


Talk to someone

This last point seems so easy, yet it is probably the most difficult one.

We think before speaking with someone, or potentially these may be some of the thoughts you have

‘I am a burden

I do not want to bother them with my problems

I am miserable

They won’t understand so what is the point?’

So, maybe they won’t fully understand how your mind works,we are all different but they will want to listen to you (TRUST ME). They want you to feel better and want you to share your worries. After all if we can’t share our worries with the ones we love then something is not right?


You are NEVER a burden.


Having a bad day is OKAY – This can be turned around, let yourself have it. Do not beat yourself up over it, we all have them.


Remember this is not forever and things will get better; that is a promise. So much can happen in life in a month, 6 months, a year you can be in a whole different place, a whole new exciting place.

This may be my journey and what works for me and may not necessarily work for you, however I urge you to try something new or something which scares you and it will be the first step in the right direction.

Sending my love as always,

Kirsty – Shine Bright K x


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page